Canucks, Flames Renew Hostilities

Move over Battle of Alberta, there's a new team in town. Okay so not quite, but over the past three seasons that Vancouver Canucks have supplanted the Edmonton Oilers as the Calgary Flames fiercest rival. Thanks in large part to missing the playoffs in eight of the past eleven season, the Oilers have been cast aside.

For the second straight year, the Canucks will begin their campaign against the Calgary Flames, the team they beat out for the Northwest division title in the final game of the regular season last year. Both teams have undergone some changes with the biggest for the Canucks being the loss of Mats Sundin and Mattias Ohlund. Coming in are Mikael Samuelsson, Sergei Shirokov and Christian Ehrhoff.

For the Flames, they're coming into the 2009-2010 season with two significant changes. First is on the blue line where they've brought in Jaw Bouwmeester to add to their powerful defensive duo of Dion Phaneuf and Robyn Regehr. Another change comes behind the bench as Mike Keenan was axed over the summer and Brent Sutter hired in his place.

The two teams played twice this preseason with the Canucks prevailing both times in the shootout. Last season the Canucks were 4-2-0 against the Flames while Calgary sported a 2-2-2 record against Vancouver.

The action kicks off at 7:00pm Pacific tonight on CBC Hockey Night in Canada following the Montreal Canadiens at Toronto Maple Leafs.

Canucks Lineup

Sedin - Sedin - Burrows
Shirokov - Kesler - Samuelsson
Raymond - Wellwood - Bernier
Hordichuk - Johnson - Rypien

Mitchell - Salo
Edler - Ehrhoff
O'Brien - Bieksa


Flames Lineup

Moss - Jokinen - Iginla
Dawes - Langkow - Bourque
Glencross - Conroy - Boyd
Sjostrom - Nystrom - Prust

Regehr - Phaneuf
Giordano - Bouwmeester
Kronwall - Pardy